TUCSON – Driving while on your cellphone is officially banned, Gov. Doug Ducey signed House Bill 2318, which bans handheld cellphone use by motorists in the entire state, on Monday.
On Friday, Arizona lawmakers approved the comprehensive statewide ban following an approving 44-16 vote by the House.
“This is a tremendously historic day not, just for children, but for all who utilize our public roads, this is a long time coming 13 years in the making countless lives lost,” Brendan Lyons of LOOK! Save A Life said. “A very powerful moment.”
The statewide ban will be replacing the 26 local ordinances and will be a primary offense.
Hands-Free Arizona prohibits holding or supporting a wireless device while driving, writing/reading a text while driving, and watching/recording/broadcasting video while driving.
Under the new law, drivers will be able to use their phone stopped at a traffic light.
Beginning on January 1, 2021, motorists caught using a handheld device while behind the wheel may be issued a citation for up to $150 for the first violation. They can receive a citation of up to $250 for the second offense.
Before 2021, motorists may be issued a warning for violating this new law. The existing versions of the ban in cities and counties will remain in effect until 2021.