Southern Arizona | Investigating 4 You
Home   |

Decision 2019: Candidates begin to file for Tucson mayor seat

TUCSON – The 2019 mayoral race is officially underway. With the filing deadline less than five months away, several Tucsonans have thrown their hat into the ring for this upcoming election.

Back in December, Jonathan Rothschild, current mayor of Tucson, announced that he will not run for a third term. With the seat opening up in 2019, Tucsonans ranging from business leaders to government officials have begun filing signatures to meet five percent requirement to be listed on the primary ballot.

According to the city, the deadline to file for a nomination is 5 p.m. May 29.

As of Jan. 11, six candidates have officially filed to run for the mayor’s seat. Those candidates are listed below.

  • Ed Ackerly
  • Denny Crafton
  • Steve Farley
  • Frank Konarski
  • Iman-Utopia Layjou Bah
  • Robert Louis Reus

Tucson City Council member Regina Romero announced Wednesday that she will be running for mayor. She has not yet filed with the city, according to the City Clerk’s Office.

Anthony Victor Reyes

Anthony Victor Reyes

Anthony Victor Reyes is the lead digital content producer at News 4 Tucson. The award-winning journalist previously worked as a community reporter in Jasper County, Iowa.
Scroll to top
Skip to content