Southern Arizona | Investigating 4 You
Home   |

TUSD teacher wins 2018 Arizona EL Teacher of the Year

For the first time, a teacher from the Tucson Unified School District has received the 2018 Arizona EL Teacher of the Year!

We are proud to announce that Ms. Miriam Romero from Carrillo K-5 Magnet School has been selected among thousands of teachers across the state.

Ms. Romero was surprised with the award during a school assembly where students and colleagues celebrated her and this well-deserved recognition.

Superintendent of Public Instruction, Diane Douglas, made the announcement of this great state honor. Tucson Unified School District Superintendent, Dr. Gabriel Trujillo, and Patricia Sandoval-Taylor, Language Acquisition Interim Director, were present at the event.

“TUSD has never had a state winner and we are more than excited to share the news,” Sandoval-Taylor said.

Ms. Romero will also be honored among EL teachers from across the state at the State OELAS conference in December.

Congratulations Ms. Miriam Romero!!!

WXOW Staff

WXOW Staff

Scroll to top
Skip to content