Southern Arizona | We've Got You Covered
Home   |

12-year-old wins Tucson Birthday Stamp Design contest

TUCSON – The Tucson Birthday Stamp Design Contest winner was announced Tuesday morning.

Nola Gelling, 12, a seventh-grader at Khalsa Montessori School is the grand prize winner this year.

The 12-year-old grew up drawing in her mother’s studio. She loves to create art and explore the Sonoran desert.

Nola Gelling won the 12th Annual Tucson Birthday Stamp Design Contest. / Courtesy: Postal History Foundation

Her drawing was inspired by the famous cristate saguaros in Sabino Canyon.

“A lot of people know about Sabino Canyon but not a lot of people know about the Sabino Canyon Fan, cristate saguaro, “ Nola said. “Happy Birthday Tucson. 244 years old today!”

12th Annual Tucson Birthday Stamp Design Contest participants / Courtesy: Postal History Foundation

Other winners:

  • Age 5-8: Luna Spigut, Ventana Vista Elementary and Jack Fletcher, Tanque Verde Elementary
  • Age 9-12: Ashley Martinez, Manzo Elementary and Zoe Douglas, Sycamore Elementary
  • Age 13-17: Alyssa O’Haver, Marana High School and Vanesa Cardenas Garcia, University High School.

The stamps are legal custom USPS stamps that can be used for mailing letters. They are only available through the Postal History Foundation, a non-profit that supports teachers and students nation-wide.

The cost is $1.50 per stamp, the proceeds benefit the Stamp Discovery program. / Courtesy: Postal History Foundation

The cost is $1.50 per stamp, the proceeds benefit the Stamp Discovery program which supports more than 13,000 teachers and students locally and across the country. Collectible envelopes can be purchased for .50¢ per envelope.

To buy stamps and cachets drop by the Postal History Foundation, or contact Lisa Dembowski, Education Director, at 520-623-6652 x 102 to order over the phone. You may also email her at .

Order forms are online at , 9 a.m. to 3 p.m., Monday through Friday.

The top fifteen winners will be on exhibit at the Postal History Foundation until the 2020 Awards ceremony next year.

Julia Leon

Julia Leon

Scroll to top
Skip to content